At a Special Meeting of the Town Council holden in and for the Town of Glocester on January 2, 2019:

#### I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m.

II. Roll Call George O. (Buster) Steere, Jr., Julian P. Forgue, Walter M. O. Steere, III;

William E. Reichert and Patricia Henry.

Also Present: Jean Fecteau, Town Clerk; Tim Kane, Town Solicitor; Joseph DelPrete,

Chief of Police; Karen Scott, Town Planner; Kenneth Johnson, Building/Zoning Official, Judith Branch, Director of Human Services; Melissa Bouvier, Senior Center Director; and Gary Treml, Public Works

Director.

## III. Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

# IV. The Swearing in of Glocester Elected officials

Councilor G. Steere introduced Representative Mike Chippendale and Senator Jessica de la Cruz. At this time Councilor G. Steere read the names of those elected officials to be sworn in this evening:

## **TOWN SERGEANT**

Kevin P. Walsh

### **DIRECTOR OF HUMAN SERVICES**

Judith A. Branch

### TOWN COUNCIL

George O. Steere, Jr. Walter M. O. Steere, III Julian P. Forgue Patricia Jean Henry William E. Reichert

## **GLOCESTER SCHOOL COMMITTEE**

Cynthia A. Joyce Walter M.O. Steere, Jr. Melissa A. Worthy

Rep. Chippendale expressed his appreciation for being invited to this meeting and complimented Glocester stating the town was a "very well run machine" and thanked all of those elected and those that work for the town. Rep Chippendale introduced Senator de la Cruz. Senator de la Cruz thanked Council for this opportunity to swear in Glocester's elected officials.

Senator de la Cruz administered the oath of office to elected officials present.

## V. Organization of Town Council

Councilor G. Steere stated we now need a motion to appoint our Town Council President.

MOTION was made by Councilor Forgue to NOMINATE Councilor G. Steere to the position of Town Council President for the 2019-2020 term; seconded by Councilor W. Steere

Discussion: none

VOTE: AYES- G. Steere, W. Steere, Reichert, Forgue and Henry

NAYS-0

**MOTION PASSED** 

MOTION was made by Councilor W. Reichert to NOMINATE Councilor W. Steere to the position of Town Council Vice-President for the 2019-2020 term; seconded by Councilor G. Steere

Discussion: none

VOTE: AYES- G. Steere, W. Steere, Reichert, Forgue and Henry

NAYS-0

**MOTION PASSED** 

VI. Adjourn

MOTION was made by Councilor W. Steere to ADJOURN at 7:07 p.m.; seconded by Councilor W. Reichert

Discussion: none

VOTE: AYES- G. Steere, W. Steere, Reichert, Forgue and Henry

NAYS-0

**MOTION PASSED** 

Councilor G. Steere welcomed all to join us for refreshments.